Author Topic: What to do about tenants and marajuana  (Read 3569 times)

sbaTexas

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What to do about tenants and marajuana
« on: July 20, 2017, 05:46:24 PM »
My Pest Control Guy took a picture today of what appears to be a large bag of weed  at the top of the closet he was working on at one of my rental houses.  He also said there appears to be a vacuum sealer machine.  I am not a marijuana expert so I can't really confirm from the picture, but it sure does seem like marijuana.

This is the first time Ive run across this.  Obviously I cannot confirm if it was marijuana but my guy seems pretty sure of it. How should I handle this? The lease just expired and she is month-to-month so I can always just tell her it's time to move out but am I legally required to do anything here?   Please advise on what you guys think I need to do here. By the way I'm in Texas so it is definitely not legal.

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What to do about tenants and marajuana
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 06:00:53 PM »
I don't think you're legally required to do anything (like dropping a dime on her or anything). You have a picture and you're not sure what it is. You can drop it there (and I think you should).

With regards to whether you want the tenant out or not, if you didn't know about the bag of unknown plant material, what would you want to happen?
Now that you have a possible suspicion, does any of that change?

It sounds like you're inclined to end her tenancy, which is fine. If that's the path you want to take, do it as normal, don't mention the picture, and part ways as usual.

NoNonsenseLandlord

• Bristles
    • No Nonsense Landlord
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 01:15:38 AM »
In my multifamily properties, I would terminate the lease.  Get her out.

Dee18

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2017, 05:01:41 AM »
Terminate the lease.  Federal forfeiture laws for properties being used for drug distribution are not something you ever want to deal with.