Author Topic: What should we live in when we come home?  (Read 1711 times)

shzm93

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What should we live in when we come home?
« on: September 25, 2015, 11:52:56 PM »
Hi everyone!

I'm new to MMM and looking for a bit of advice. My husband and I own a duplex in a western U.S. state that we've currently got all rented out. We are on a year-long, round-the-world trip and won't be returning back home for awhile. Prior to leaving the U.S. we lived in half of this duplex and only rented out the other half. From a financial standpoint I'm wondering what the best living arrangement might be for us once we come home. The options I can think of include:

1) Moving back into "our" half of the duplex, which would mean sacrificing roughly $600 of rental income,
2) Continuing to rent out the duplex, but rent an apartment from someone else (in our area that would probably cost us at least $500),
3) Live out of an RV (I secretly love the idea of this arrangement, but I'm not sure if it'd actually save us money), or
4) Live with family. This wouldn't be free since I'd insist on paying them something. This arrangement doesn't appeal to me (we are young and will likely start trying for a baby once we're done traveling), but I'd be willing to do it temporarily to save money, assuming our family wasn't opposed.

What would you do? As a side note, we are in the process of obtaining another rental property. As much as I'd love to live in it, I'm trying to remember that it's an investment meant for someone else to call home right now. Any thoughts are welcome! Thanks in advance.

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
Re: What should we live in when we come home?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 12:49:08 AM »