Author Topic: What % of Your Deals Were Wholesale vs. Retail?  (Read 5454 times)

Thedudeabides

• Stubble
What % of Your Deals Were Wholesale vs. Retail?
« on: April 26, 2015, 03:16:52 PM »
I'm a newbie and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about real estate investing.

I'm reading "Building Wealth One House at a Time".

A lot of the discussion the book is related to putting together wholesale deals.

Question for experienced investors:

What percentage of your deals are wholesale vs. retail?

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: What % of Your Deals Were Wholesale vs. Retail?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2015, 08:05:58 AM »
By "wholesale" do you mean purchasing from a bank or wholesaler? I think maybe what you meant was how many were open market/MLS vs pavement-pounding non-market deals?

-W

Thedudeabides

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2015, 08:15:14 AM »
@waltworks, yes. How many were market/MLS vs pavement-pounding? The book I'm reading talks a lot about talking directly to the owner. I'm interested in learning whether or not this has been commo practice for other real estate investors or if it's more typical to work with an intermediary of some sort (realtor, etc.)

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2015, 09:51:14 AM »
All of mine (only 4 properties) were MLS/on market. But they were during a time period (2009-2012) when you could have purchased houses completely at random in the US and done great, and in many cases banks/owners were desperate to sell. Deals were so good it didn't matter if you paid a RE agent, nobody else wanted the place, you could try a lowball offer on a dozen properties and get several to accept, etc.

I think if you wanted a deal basically anywhere now you would need to find it yourself to save the commissions/fees/etc. Maybe there's still a few markets where you can buy at retail and do ok, but I don't know of any personally. I am down to one rental and it'll be gone in another month or so here - prices have gone crazy.