Author Topic: What do I do with 350k in equity?  (Read 1785 times)

CCT33

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What do I do with 350k in equity?
« on: April 05, 2019, 07:24:13 PM »
Hi,
First off, I'm very very new to all things investing, so forgive me in advance.

Long story short : I bought a house in seattle right before the market took off and it's currently worth ~600k. I paid $280k and owe about $250k still. It's my primary / only residence

I have no debt other than the house and a very small car payment

Everyone keeps telling me i'm "sitting on a ton of money" but what do I do with it? Invest in more real estate? something else? nothing?

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: What do I do with 350k in equity?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2019, 10:34:50 PM »
If you live in the house and you like living there, the answer is: ignore it, and continue with your life.

If this is an investment property/rental, you may (or may not) want to sell it.

If you live in the house but hate living in Seattle, sell it and move.

Pretty easy.

-W

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2019, 11:05:44 AM »

Everyone keeps telling me i'm "sitting on a ton of money"

I'll bet that 99.9% of the people telling you that mean you should get an HELOC and spend! Spend! and Spend!

That's terrible financial advice, of course.

I invest in real estate and think it's a great way for middle class folks to build wealth.  I have a HELOC that I *can* use to purchase a property if my cash reserves are down at the moment.   Have used it once in that manner.    Just make sure you have fallback plans in case things go wrong -- like it won't rent or you lose your job, so don't use it to build a house of cards.

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2019, 11:11:12 AM »
A lot of the answer to this depends on your overall net worth, income, and asset breakdown.

Telecaster

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2019, 01:51:14 PM »
Hi,