Author Topic: What counts for depreciation as part of the pay back?  (Read 2298 times)

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
What counts for depreciation as part of the pay back?
« on: June 06, 2016, 07:25:34 AM »
We are selling our rental and I am trying to figure out taxes.  When it says we have to pay back depreciation does that include the improvements like a new roof or furnaces/water heaters that are also depreciated or just the house?

Rollin

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What counts for depreciation as part of the pay back?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2016, 07:51:23 AM »
I'm going to get you started, but there are more that will add to this with much more detail.

Your depreciation is offset by some of those items, but not every improvement. Also, as far as I know you don't pay that $$ back, but you pay 25% of that in taxes.

Here is a thread that I started on this subject (note that I'm still learning about a couple of the things I had incorrect - mainly the long tern capital gain tax rate). You should see a good discussion of the depreciation subject:

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/real-estate-and-landlording/lease-option-to-purchase-is-option-part-of-sale-price/new/?topicseen#new

Spitfire

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2016, 09:18:40 AM »
I think you are referring to depreciation recapture. When you sell your house, you will have to take your net proceeds vs. your tax basis in the property to figure out the gain. Any amount that you took as depreciation over the years will be considered ordinary income and the rest will be capital gain (at the lower rate). Oversimplified example:

House cost: $500k
Depreciation taken: $100k
Tax Basis: $400k (500-100)

Sales price: $600k

You will have a $200k gain here, $100k will be ordinary income because of the depreciation recapture, and $100k will be capital gains.

If you were taking depreciation on those improvements, then it would include that depreciation also.

GuitarBrian

• Bristles