Author Topic: wet carpet in basement  (Read 3775 times)

clarkfan1979

• Magnum Stache
wet carpet in basement
« on: July 13, 2014, 06:55:34 PM »
Lots of rain in Colorado yesterday. The main water line going out to the street was partially blocked and stormwater backed up a little in the basement. One of the bedrooms is in the basement with a drain. According to my tenant half of the bedroom carpet is totally soaked through. My plan is to send a carpet cleaning service to the house tomorrow to soak up all the water. I'm guessing it will cost me $150-$200, maybe cheaper. My tenant asked about possible mold. I'm not an expert, but I don't see it being possible if you get the water out in less than 36 hours. Don't carpet cleaning services get the carpet really wet when they do a wet clean? I remember them taking two days to dry when moving into a new apartment. Lastly, Colorado is very dry with very little mold problems.

Getting a new carpet in the bedroom would not be that much more expensive, probably $300. I wouldn't mind putting in new carpet if I thought it would help. However, I don't think it's an issue. Any advice? Am I missing something?

former player

• Walrus Stache
Re: wet carpet in basement
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 02:22:33 AM »
How clean was the water that backed up?

How can you ensure that the blockage doesn't reoccur, or that if it does reoccur there is no flooding in the basement?

Can you put down new flooring which will stand up to flooding better than carpet?

If you are concerned about damp/mold, either make sure that there is a lot of ventilation in the room (windows wide open) until it is bone dry, or hire a dehumidifier until it is bone dry.

Left

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2014, 04:49:14 AM »