Author Topic: Warren Buffett shares his badassity  (Read 13050 times)

smedleyb

Warren Buffett shares his badassity
« on: February 27, 2012, 06:39:02 AM »
To all current and future landlords, the Oracle of Omaha chimes in:

http://www.businessinsider.com/warren-buffetts-1-investment-idea-2012-2

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Warren Buffett shares his badassity
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 09:14:14 AM »
Very interesting.

Specifically, he likes the idea of actually buying distressed houses with cheap leverage, and renting them out.

Can't disagree with him there, it's my "Plan A" for FI.

It worries me though that housing is starting to get positive mentions.  I was hoping everyone would stay negative on it for the next, oh, 5 years or so.  I want to buy when people are negative about it! 
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Grigory

• Stubble
  • (rhymes with "story")
    • my attempt at blogging
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 08:30:35 PM »
Very clever: he'd never stoop so low himself because it'd be small potatoes to Berkshire-Hathaway. (They need to buy billion-dollar companies just to make a dent in their profits.) I'm betting he came out with this idea for the sole purpose of encouraging all the entrepreneurs and would-be entrepreneurs (aka fence-sitters) out there. Of course, there are several ways this could go terribly wrong, but that's a different story...

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 07:29:13 AM »