Author Topic: Valuing your home  (Read 5607 times)

Frugal D

• Stubble
Valuing your home
« on: August 10, 2015, 05:17:52 PM »
How does everyone value your primary residence? I have no intention of selling anytime soon, but just for the monthly NW calculation I like to keep the value updated.

I've been using the median of Zillow, Trulia, and Realtor values and just curious if there are any better resources out there.

Thanks!

Rezdent

• Pencil Stache
Re: Valuing your home
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 05:40:08 PM »
For yearly NW calculations, I use our county tax assessment value.  They are fairly stable and somewhat conservative.
I do not include primary residence for FI or retirement calculations.

Terrestrial

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 06:22:51 PM »
Looking at the comps of what's recently sold in the past 3-4 months.

thedayisbrave

• Pencil Stache
  • CFO @ My Life
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2015, 07:51:20 PM »

This.

Full disclosure: I'm a real estate agent, so I do this on a regular basis.

Frugal D

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2015, 09:41:17 PM »

This.

Doesn't Zillow, Trulia, and Realtor do this for you in there values?

Rural

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2015, 05:23:53 AM »

This.

This is ideal, but it only works if something sells, and if there's something comparable.

...Which means I have no idea what our place is "worth," and neither does anyone else. I think it only matters if you intend to sell.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2015, 05:47:39 AM »
It generally doesn't matter. I assume you can get within the ballpark. Any uncertainty about its value should be a very small percent of your usable NW (i.e. the part that's not tied up in your house) anyway by the time you are ready to FIRE.

Terrestrial

• Bristles
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2015, 08:33:37 AM »