Author Topic: Vacancy Rates  (Read 1231 times)

saijoe

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Vacancy Rates
« on: August 04, 2020, 09:15:51 AM »
Thinking about dipping my toes back into rental properties.  Did it back in the 90's when I was younger and dumber and my experience wasn't great.  But my current situation is much more stable and I'm ready to get back in, I think. 

I am working with a real estate person, and perhaps she can provide some insight, but I do want to do some external research on my own as well.  My question is "Is there a website out there that gives some insight into vacancy rates in a certain area?".  My biggest concern is extended vacancy time.  I'm looking into fairly inexpensive properties in working class neighborhoods. 

anni

• Stubble
Re: Vacancy Rates
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2020, 10:23:13 AM »
I'm no RE professional so take this with a grain of salt. But I've been looking to move recently, and it seems like on Zillow, "number of contacts"/"number of applications" for units like the ones you're thinking of will help give you a sense of how hot the rental market is there. (I've been looking into kind of hot seasonal markets, though). You have to look at each place manually, but it's a bit of free information.

Evie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2020, 11:06:31 AM »
I'd be pretty reticent to get in right now. See my other thread I just started on what people are seeing on vacancies this fall.  There are a lot of unknowns. A lot of states have eviction moratoriums so you run the risk of taking on a mortgage and then having tenants who can't pay, and while they are supposed to still owe the money most renters who fall multiple months behind aren't suddenly going to come up with the money.