Author Topic: Using Home Equity (HELOC) to finance down payment?  (Read 3847 times)

FurtherJourneys

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Using Home Equity (HELOC) to finance down payment?
« on: September 11, 2015, 01:20:49 PM »
This is my first time posting in the forum, hello! My husband and I have been researching and considering investing in real estate for about a year. An opportunity has come up that is interesting, and we are looking into financing options and crunching the numbers, etc. Our house is paid off and so we have at least $120,000 in equity. I was wondering if it is common and/or advisable to use a HELOC to put a down payment on a property. We'd rather not pull out money from the stock market right now and while we have a nice cushion of cash to supplement the down payment we don't have enough to cover a 20 - 25% down payment on a multi-unit property. Also, any tips on where to secure this type of loan? My husband's credit union doesn't do loans on investment properties and we are going to be shopping around. I'd appreciate any and all feedback and advice!

maxpower

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Using Home Equity (HELOC) to finance down payment?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 08:58:35 AM »
Hey FurtherJourneys,
I asked basically the same question this morning, except in our case the matter is not of an investment property, but of buying our next primary residence. Hopefully some of the pros will pop in here for us, as I really don't have much experience in this realm of things!

Best wishes!

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 10:55:11 AM »
A HELOC is one way to go. Pulling money out of the stock market might be a pretty decent idea as long as you don't have too many capital gains. The market is still pretty overvalued so you would be putting the money to a better return environment in real estate (assuming you did the investment property analysis correctly).

FurtherJourneys

• 5 O'Clock Shadow