Author Topic: Total newbie toying with the idea of buying for (eventual) investment property  (Read 3446 times)

mabinogi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
We are nowhere near deciding to actually do this, so if it's an incredibly stupid idea, be nice (but honest)!

DH and I live in a town where a pretty large percentage of homes are currently for sale, so it's possible to get a pretty nice house for a pretty nice price. On the other hand, there is a very limited rental market. We are currently renting, and paying $1300/month for a house that's too big for us, because there just wasn't much available when we moved here. Overall, there is very little mid-range rental housing available.

If we were planning on staying here long-term, I think it would almost certainly make sense for us to buy a house. We could get a nice house that would suit our needs for ~$125k. The catch: we don't want to stay here long-term. We'll be here at least another year or two, but our 5-year plan involves getting the heck out of here. Given the state of the real estate market, I'm not confident we could sell if we ended up moving within a few years. That said, it seems to me that it MIGHT make sense to keep a house here for an investment property, since there is so little rental housing available. The housing market is expected to pick up here eventually - the major employer here is a large government lab, so there's steady employment, but due to government funding cycles, the housing market here tends to lag behind the rest of the country.

So, since I'm a complete newbie here, some very basic questions:
1) how much (in percent of home value) should one expect to get in rent in order to make an investment property worthwhile?
2) how much of the monthly rent would be eaten up by the property management company (since we'd eventually be remote)?
3) is this overall a terrible idea, or does it have some promise?

Thanks in advance!

Calimandc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow