Author Topic: Tips on making an offer to landlord  (Read 2668 times)

ReP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tips on making an offer to landlord
« on: August 03, 2016, 10:42:40 AM »
We live in an incredibly competitive market (Bellevue, WA). We are thinking of making an offer on our house to the landlord to reduce competition.

Any tips on how to make the offer as juicy as possible (besides a fair price and cutting out real estate agents obviously). I know there can be tax incentives, etc. for landlords with different payment arrangements (traditional purchase versus land-lease contracts or something?) I'm not sure which terms to start researching.

Thanks all.

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Tips on making an offer to landlord
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 10:56:03 AM »
Posting to follow. I've been toying with this idea for the past 2 years. Though I don't know if I could stomach knowing that on top of paying him rent for the past 5 years we'd also be paying the 100k+ appreciation to our landlord. 

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2016, 10:57:33 AM »
Posting to follow. I've been toying with this idea for the past 2 years. Though I don't know if I could stomach knowing that on top of paying him rent for the past 5 years we'd also be paying the 100k+ appreciation to our landlord.
The difference between that and what you'd be paying to any other home seller is entirely psychological.

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2016, 11:02:56 AM »
Just because its psychological doesn't make it go away! It would be easier to separate the feelings if they were two different parties I think. Is it logical? No of course not. 

One question I've always had is if you were to do this is would you do a home inspection on the sly beforehand? Its only a few hundred dollars right? Or would you wait until after an initial offer like a typical home sale.

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache