Author Topic: Thoughts on future appreciation vs. flipping  (Read 1950 times)

GoCubsGo

• Bristles
Thoughts on future appreciation vs. flipping
« on: May 23, 2013, 09:40:42 AM »
After looking at 100+ properties the past year, I finally found a solid deal and will be closing on it in a couple weeks.  Quick background, my market has been booming the past 2 years with solid appreciation and short market times.  Multiple offers on the majority of REO properties and tons of cash investors.  I'm a realtor and sold 6 properties last year to non-traditional first time real estate investors (eg. accountants, computer programmers etc that wanted to get in on the hot market).  I currently own a SFH rental and my rental rates have gone up 20% in past few years (with multiple applicants each time I've put it out there).

Details- Cash ROI is projected to be 10% after about $20K in repairs, Total ROI is 15%.  All in cost will be about $200K, with the post reno value roughly being $265K.  Mortgage 4.125% @ 20% down.

I've flipped a couple homes in the past, but would like to keep this one.  The short term gain is very tempting and while the 15% ROI is good (in this market), I'm a bit torn whether it's enough to hang on to it.  I then added 2% appreciation going forward (I know that's a slippery slope) and the Total ROI is close to 25%. Sidenote: The cash that I will be using to fund this generally sits around earning 2% as I like to have cash handy for projects like these.  Retirement funds are invested 85% in stocks so I guess this is my diversification.  For some reason I feel a lot more comfortable about owning real property rather than stocks that I feel I have little control over.  Between the two rentals, I will probably be at the limit for how much $ I want tied up.