Author Topic: Thinking of buying a rental property! Opinions please  (Read 9560 times)

Balance

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Thinking of buying a rental property! Opinions please
« on: March 28, 2012, 12:15:12 PM »
Hi all. I am thinking of buying a rental property here in the SF Bay Area. The property I am looking at is a condo selling as a short sale for $125k. It is a 1 bedroom/1 bath approximately 700 square feet. HOA is $385. This development used to command a selling price of $300k for a similar floorplan condo just a few years ago at the height of the market. (I know the past values mean nothing for the future but I just wanted to make a note of it) I have tracked it for the last 2 years and saw it drop quite significantly to the point where I think it makes sense to at least crunch the numbers.

I work as a real estate appraiser in the SF Bay Area. So I constantly analyze market trends in all the neighborhoods I appraise in. This development is centrally located on the Peninsula between downtown SF and Silicon Valley. It is within walking distance of YouTube's corporate headquarters.  I have done recent rental surveys in the subject's development and rents consistently go from a low average of $1,350 to a high of $1,500.

Here are the stats again
1 Bed/1 bath Condominium
700 square feet
$125,000 Purchase Price
Rental range - $1350-1500
HOA $385
Vacancy rate is sub 3%

My first question would if I plan to use it primarily as a rental property what % down payment would I need.  I was thinking of putting down 20% but is that sufficient for lenders?  My credit score is over 800 with no debt. But even with stellar credit and a good debt ratio I know lenders are still pretty strict on lending these days.