Author Topic: Tapping equity in a rental property?  (Read 3142 times)

Marvel2017

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tapping equity in a rental property?
« on: February 24, 2016, 04:09:23 PM »
What's the best way to get a low interest rate loan using the equity in a tenant-occupied investment property (my primary residence is elsewhere). Thanks

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Tapping equity in a rental property?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2016, 04:41:23 PM »
This is quite difficult to do.  Fannie/freddie won't underwrite cash out refis on rentals, so the big banks won't do it.  So then, without government money, you're stuck with a lot worse terms (shorter payback period, higher rates, balloon payments, etc.).

Your best best would be a local credit union, who might underwrite it and keep the loan and service it in-house.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2016, 06:09:54 PM »
Some people have been successful getting HELOCs on rentals, but I have not found anyone in my market that will do that.  It certainly would not hurt to shop around.

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2016, 06:50:43 PM »
I know multiple people who cash out refi for their rentals, so it's definitely doable. Call around to some banks and see who can do it for you.  I don't know who they specifically use and I haven't tried myself. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2016, 03:11:13 AM »