Author Topic: Talk me down  (Read 2709 times)

neophyte

• Pencil Stache
Talk me down
« on: July 23, 2016, 08:26:05 AM »
A beautiful 4 bed/2.5 bath house just came on the market a few blocks away from me.  Nice kitchen, small yard out back, sun porch great for storing bikes. It's in a university area so the plan would be to rent the extra bedrooms to grad students and post-docs.  After 20% down PITI is estimated to be just $1 more than my roommate and I have been paying for our run down 2 bedroom apartment (leaky roof, mice, and cockroaches, just to name the biggest issues). But I'm just not in the right place to be buying a house right now.  I'm thinking of applying to grad school in the fall and if I don't get in, I should be looking for a new job that will be more lucrative. Either might take me out of easy commuting distance. (Although I have been saying this for 3 years now...) Talk me down mustachians.

MakeSmarterDecisions

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Make Smarter Decisions
Re: Talk me down
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2016, 09:00:26 AM »
Sounds like you are not in a position at all to consider this. Do you have a lot in savings in case anything goes wrong? I would be happy sharing our (almost) really big mistake purchasing a property like this (and we have plenty in savings and are FI). 

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2016, 10:01:14 AM »
Are you single?

Could you reliably rent out rooms?

If so, you might be able to minimize the potential problems with your plan should you be able to find good roommates (bad ones will cause more problems).

neophyte

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2016, 11:43:04 AM »