Author Topic: Taking over from a PM  (Read 2749 times)

aj76er

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taking over from a PM
« on: November 21, 2015, 04:39:25 PM »
Hi All,

I'm getting ready to take over the day-to-day management of 2 rentals from a PM and was wondering: Should I try to transfer the existing lease?  Or should I work up a new lease and have the tenants go through all the paperwork again, but under my own LLC.
Both are currently month-to-month, and I would plan to keep them that way.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Taking over from a PM
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 02:04:32 AM »
If they're month to month anyways, I'd do a new one, if you have a specific LLC already set up.

What's the point of the LLC if not to use it, and do things properly, for the liability protection.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Bearded Man

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 09:06:03 AM »
Are you a member of the LLC? Don't charging orders basically negate LLC protections these days? They seem to in my state. 

I'd put them on a new lease. I try to go by the book. If you don't, you are opening yourself up to more potential liability down the road.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Taking over from a PM
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2015, 09:37:20 AM »
Yeah, I wouldn't manage a property I had in an LLC, because then they'll sue you as the manager, ownership aside, and your assets are potentially open, even though you're expecting them to be off limited due to the limited liability protection from the LLC.

LLCs' veils are quite easy for a good attorney to pierce, and self-managing is one big, obvious way.