Author Topic: Should I unload my new house? How can I best go about doing so?  (Read 1067 times)

pnw_guy

• Stubble
Hi all,

About me: I'm new to MMM and the FIRE community. In my early 30's with a family and working in tech in the PNW.

My question: I just bought an expensive home that closed earlier this year in a high cost of living area. While the home is expensive, I specifically bought it because it has a basement that is ideal for a rental unit. My thinking was my renting that out I could substantially reduce my housing costs. However, I've recently learned that I can work remotely moving forward. Thus, my incentive to remain in a high cost of living area is substantially reduced, and my thinking is that if I can reduce my housing costs then I might be able to reach FIRE faster. So, here are my specific questions:

1) How should I think about - at least from a financial perspective - whether I should sell my new house? On the one hand, I think I could reach FIRE faster if I could reduce my housing costs and invest the difference. As mentioned above, I think I'll eventually be able to rent out the basement of my house to reduce my current housing costs, but even if this is possible, I still have the liability of carrying a large mortgage. On the other hand, I have quite a bit saved for retirement in index funds, so maybe I should keep the house and just rent it as a form of diversification?