Author Topic: Should I buy the house I've lived in for the last ten years?  (Read 2646 times)

kristof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I buy the house I've lived in for the last ten years?
« on: August 14, 2019, 10:15:13 PM »
Looking for some advice on a buy/no buy decision. The owner of the house in which I've been renting a room for the last ten years is planning to sell it. She has asked if I'm interested in buying it from her so we can both avoid agent fees. It is a two family in the Boston area with a 2 bed / 1 bath unit and a 4 bed / 1.5 bath unit. The two extra bedrooms in the second unit are a bit funky (it's like a converted attic - I'm 6'6 and can't stand up straight in them). The house is dated (weird wood paneling, old kitchen cabinets, etc) but we've had no major issues since I've lived here.

All else equal, I would prefer not to own real estate and had no plans to purchase anything in the immediate future, if ever. As you can tell from my description of the house, I have very little expertise in this area and not much interest in acquiring it and had been planning to just stay in index funds forever. The main reason I've lived in this place so long is because of my relationship with the owner who has benefited from having a stable tenant and so has given me a solid discount on the rent throughout my time here (I've done all the tenant/roommate searches since I moved in). The place would also be out of my price range if I wanted to buy it by myself.