Author Topic: Should I ask my landlord for a deal?  (Read 2659 times)

Wrenchturner

• Handlebar Stache
Should I ask my landlord for a deal?
« on: March 29, 2020, 08:04:24 PM »
I've been renting this place for 14 months now.  Never had any missed payments and I'm a very low maintenance tenant.

I'll probably get laid off this week and my income will drop substantially.  I'll still be able to afford rent though.  My lease is up end of April and it's a fixed term so I have to make an arrangement with the landlord either to renew or go month-to-month.

Should I ask for a discount given my layoff even though I'll be able to afford it?  Really it's my savings rate that will take a loss.

RWTL

• Pencil Stache
Re: Should I ask my landlord for a deal?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 04:24:56 AM »
No. 

You have an obligation that you committed to.  You shouldn't put your savings rate above paying your obligations.  Congrats on having enough saved to weather the storm!

former player

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2020, 04:56:56 AM »
No. 

You have an obligation that you committed to.  You shouldn't put your savings rate above paying your obligations.  Congrats on having enough saved to weather the storm!

There is no obligation past the end of April, though, is there?  That means that Wrenchturner and her landlord need to come to some new arrangement when the old one ends, and there are a number of options: Wrenchturner decides to leave, the landlord decides he wants Wrenchturner to leave, or they both agree terms on which Wrenchturner stays.