Author Topic: Short Term Furnished Rentals  (Read 3315 times)

AlmostIndependent

• Pencil Stache
Short Term Furnished Rentals
« on: July 25, 2014, 09:48:37 PM »
I have a lot of experience with unfurnished long-term rentals. I would like to travel for a while and want to rent out my house (preferably furnished so I don't have to move all my stuff) while I am gone.

I'm sure someone out there has done this; where should I begin? What resources do I need to start looking at?

totoro

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Short Term Furnished Rentals
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 10:49:52 PM »
You should take out any items you would care about being lost or damaged and inventory the contents.   You need to have a written agreement (the same as with your unfurnished - just modify_ which provides liability for damage to furnishings and should have the inventory attached.  Look at what other furnished rentals are going for and post it for rent at or below this price. It is a bit of work to set up at first but nowhere near moving and storing your stuff.

SnpKraklePhyz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2014, 05:25:47 AM »
I did this recently.  I put a lock on the basement door and put anything "valuable" in the basement.  I don't have much valuable - just family stuff.  I took my jewelry with me. It has worked out well for me but the rug took a beating.  I'm hoping I can get it clean with the steam cleaner.

I found tenants on CL and vetted them myself first.

CanuckExpat

• Magnum Stache
    • Freedom35
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 11:04:53 AM »

AlmostIndependent

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2014, 11:29:00 AM »
Thanks everyone! This is a good start. It seems like a little more work but with the potential to make a decent amount of money.

escolegrove

• Stubble
    • Reluctant Landlord
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2014, 09:28:26 PM »