Author Topic: Seller Financed Mortgage  (Read 3769 times)

Nate T

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Seller Financed Mortgage
« on: August 16, 2014, 02:36:04 PM »
Hello,

I am a 31 year old professor living in CA. Rather new to the world of personal finance but very convinced by the "mustachian" outlook. I recently mentioned to my landlord that I was thinking about buying property, and he offered to sell me the condo I rent, and to finance it.

I'm rather unfamiliar with the home buying process and was hoping some folks in this community might have words of wisdom.

The landlord himself is a very kind guy (who retired early by applying mustachian principles!). His offer is as follows:

$210,000 for the unit (a fair price in this area)
30 year note
4% interest rate

Which gives $1002.57 in principle and interest a month. Adding on the HOA fees would come to roughly $1307 (about $100 more than I pay in rent each month).

The only catch is that he wants to have a 5 year balloon (as I am told is common in seller financed mortgages). And I assume I would miss out on any first time home buyer assistance that CA offers.

What do you all think?

Many thanks for any advice,
Nate

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Seller Financed Mortgage
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2014, 03:01:15 PM »
Hi Nate,
Need to know more about your financial picture to know if you can afford it.
Have you been pre-qualified? How much do the lenders say they're willing to give you?

You might counter with a seven-year balloon.

I'd offer an interest-only deal with a seven-year balloon amortized over 30 (or fewer) years. That way every penny you pay him is deductible. Easier to manage. Your payment will be even lower. Then you can save your ass off with the goal of paying it off in full at the end of seven years. Should you miss by a bit, you will only need a very small loan.

Make sure the HOA is well-financed and doesn't have any assessments on the horizon. Get an attorney to iron out all the who-pays-for-what-details.