Author Topic: Sell or Rent? Note: We Hate Being Landlords!  (Read 3518 times)

gipsygrrl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sell or Rent? Note: We Hate Being Landlords!
« on: September 06, 2016, 04:52:13 PM »
Market Value: 435k
Original Purchase price: 295k
Original Mortgage Amount: $235,000
Interest Rate: 4.125
Mortgage Term: 30 yrs
Term remaining: 26
Amount remaining on mortgage: 217k
Gross Rents: $2100
Principal and Interest (the P&I of your PITI - should match with the above info): $1146/mo
Taxes and Insurance (the T&I of your PITI): $3696/yr
HOA costs: $0
Deferred maintenance notes: needs foundation repair at some point before selling - estimated at 10k.
Anything else special or unique in regards to the numbers of the property (not the property itself; things such as city assessments, back taxes, special costs due to unique features of the property, etc. etc.): not that I know if, but I'm a newbie landlord and not a financial person by any means!.

In a nutshell: we got really lucky buying our starter home in what has become a super-hot area in Denver. We've been renting it out for the past year. Most people are telling us the smart play is to hold on to it for at least 10 years and that will be our retirement. BUT: we've realized we hate being landlords. We live 1.5 hours away and have a small kiddo; the work involved in owning/renting the home takes a lot of time and is stressing us out. We're not high-earners, so the financial and cash-flow liabilities we'd incur keeping the house are a concern. We'd need to leverage the equity in this house to buy where we currently live - which would be putting all of our eggs in one real-estate basket. We want to sell - but don't want to make a mistake we'll regret down the line by giving up what people are telling us is a "gold mine".

Thanks so much for your time!!

Landlady

• Stubble
Re: Sell or Rent? Note: We Hate Being Landlords!
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 06:00:48 PM »