Author Topic: Sell or Keep the rental?  (Read 1935 times)

beingzero

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Sell or Keep the rental?
« on: December 27, 2016, 11:04:22 AM »
Hi All,

Need help figuring out to sell or keep a rental we own in a different state:

Original Purchase Price: 195K
Current Loan Balance: 160K
Current Interest rate: 4.05 %
Current Estimated Property Value: 250K
Monthly Mortgage Payment: 1007
Monthly HOA Payment: 175
Monthly Rent: 1750
Property Management Fees: 175
Home Warranty: 45
Cash Flow: 348

The property is an excellent school district which I have been renting out for the last 3 years and has never been on the market more than week before getting rented.

I currently live in a different state and kind of screwed up not buying the house in 2013. Now the prices are up significantly and I am worried buying at the current price levels. So continuing to rent at a pretty decent rental rate.

Should I keep renting it out/Sell it (anyway to avoid the tax hit)/tap into the equity to buy another rental or a primary residence?

Thank You.

omega13

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Sell or Keep the rental?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2016, 12:14:26 PM »

I currently live in a different state and kind of screwed up not buying the house in 2013. Now the prices are up significantly and I am worried buying at the current price levels. So continuing to rent at a pretty decent rental rate.

Hi there. Would you please clarify what you mean by this? If you own this rental, how could you have screwed up by not buying it?

beingzero

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2016, 12:26:45 PM »
I should have been more clear. I own this rental but I was talking about not buying a primary residence in the new city that i ended up moving to. I own a rental In NC that is tenant occupied but I now live in Atlanta where I don't own a house.

tralfamadorian

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2016, 01:57:33 PM »
...renting out for the last 3 years...