Author Topic: Seeking landlord perspectives - wear & tear vs. damage, sec dep return  (Read 27468 times)

Ftao93

• Stubble
Re: Seeking landlord perspectives - wear & tear vs. damage, sec dep return
« Reply #50 on: February 20, 2015, 10:13:45 AM »
I'm no expert, but replacement plants?  gardening?  Battery replacement?  WTF?

He should already be able to write off some consumables and such on his taxes, why bill you for it too?  sounds like a putz.

Freedom2016

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: February 20, 2015, 10:29:58 AM »
Thanks for the recommendation. From my earlier research on CA law and "wear and tear" it is somewhat vague although the delineation SEEMS to be if a tenant actively damaged something, i.e. burn hole in carpet from cigarette = damage that tenant pays for; worn carpet in front of couch from normal use = normal wear and tear. On this matter I found this: http://homeguides.sfgate.com/normal-wear-tear-rental-home-1914.html but it's not exactly legal language.

So in my letter do I do a line by line rebuttal of each of these dumb charges? Or do I send a blanket letter saying these are inappropriate as they fall under normal wear and tear, and you have one chance to send us the balance due or we are suing you for this plus damages?

« Last Edit: February 20, 2015, 10:34:18 AM by course11 »

ShoulderThingThatGoesUp

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #52 on: February 20, 2015, 10:30:58 AM »
They're irrelevant because he missed the deadline, right? So ignore them.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #53 on: February 20, 2015, 10:41:59 AM »
I'd do both - line by line of why they're not applicable, plus mention it's irrelevant due to his failure to provide the deposit within 21 days and by California law it's all due.

Was your lease not up until 1/31 though?  So that may have been when the clock starts ticking on that, double check that one.