Author Topic: Safe legal framework for co-ownership  (Read 1698 times)

forestj

• Stubble
Safe legal framework for co-ownership
« on: October 28, 2015, 09:08:30 PM »
Hi,

I have been a fan of co-housing ever since college, and I don't think I want to stop in the foreseeable future. Right now I am 23. As I consider Renting vs. Owning, I've always thought of it in terms of a single family home scenario -- and I've always come up feeling better about renting. However, if I could share the cost and share the house so I didn't have to get a mortgage or front the cash for the full cost of the house, I would feel a lot better about it.

An aside: I have been co-renting with a revolving rotation of friends for a few years now. Currently we have 7 people living in a large 6-bedroom unit. Each person pays a share of our rent, utility, and grocery bills, thats Rent:$270, Utility:$30, and Grocery:~$80 per person. We are very happy with it and I think it's a great way to live frugally.

Anyway, the only thing I know about trying to do co-ownership in the real world: It's a legal mine field. The only times I have ever heard of people co-owning properties, it sounds scary -- No one wants to finance it, it often fails and disputes arise, where one party essentially loses ownership, maybe unfairly, and maybe lawsuits get filed.

I don't think that I, or my friends, are somehow special and immune to those issues... I want to know more about what's possible, what someone like me could do, to organize co-ownership in a well-defined, fair, and safe way.