Author Topic: rental property???  (Read 4705 times)

Dmy0013

• Stubble
rental property???
« on: February 14, 2013, 11:36:11 AM »
L.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 09:52:37 AM by Dmy0013 »

Self-employed-swami

• Handlebar Stache
Re: rental property???
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 11:48:50 AM »
I am no landlording expert, but I wonder if buying in the same building would have some drawbacks, akin to putting all your eggs in one basket.  Say a special assessment came up for each unit... You now own two, and have to come up with +/- twice the cash.  Or, they have to raise condo fees, because not enough money is being put into the reserve fund, for some upcoming planned maintenance?

Although, there would be some convenient things, such as being onsite to deal with emergencies.

I think you'll likely be asked for some more solid numbers as well, by the more experienced landlord and investment types here.

Kazak

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 12:03:53 PM »
How much rent can you realistically get for that unit?

Self-employed-swami

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 12:28:17 PM »
I dont know if they pay the condo fee on top of that? Im assuming they would?  I do know they pay their own electrical and everything obviously, and that condo fee also includes there heat and water

That is an important bit of information.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2013, 02:08:44 PM »
Usually (in most areas of the U.S. I'm familiar with), the owner pays the HOA fee.  YMMV, but definitely something to look into.

It's all negotiable based on the lease, obviously, but a renter's going to look at what their total payments are monthly and take that into account, and you can't outprice the market, or you'll be left with a lot of vacancy.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 02:11:55 PM by arebelspy »