Author Topic: Rent vs Sell  (Read 2389 times)

FastStache

• Bristles
Rent vs Sell
« on: April 15, 2014, 01:45:40 PM »
I have lived in my house for over 5 years. After 9% in fees I should net about 30K with no capital gains.

If I decide to rent it out and sell it in the future, I would be subject to capital gains right? Is there a way around it if I put the money into another house?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Rent vs Sell
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 02:03:05 PM »
I have lived in my house for over 5 years. After 9% in fees I should net about 30K with no capital gains.

If I decide to rent it out and sell it in the future, I would be subject to capital gains right? Is there a way around it if I put the money into another house?

1031 exchange.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

FastStache

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 02:30:06 PM »
If i bought the house as an individual, but rent out the house under an LLC does this pose a problem for the getting the money out?

If you have a good resource to read up on it, I'd appreciate it! Thanks for the help already.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2014, 02:31:37 PM »
If i bought the house as an individual, but rent out the house under an LLC does this pose a problem for the getting the money out?

Under what authority would the LLC rent it out?

If you have a good resource to read up on it, I'd appreciate it! Thanks for the help already.

Read up on what?  1031 exchanges?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.