Author Topic: Rent or Buy - Check my math and my plan for holes?  (Read 5448 times)

Future Lazy

• Bristles
Rent or Buy - Check my math and my plan for holes?
« on: November 08, 2014, 09:53:05 PM »
It's cheaper for me to rent, because I've been creative in my choices, but the place I live is less than comfortable for me, for a variety of reasons. I want to move, and I want to own my residence. I want to be the one charging rent, for a change. I want to build equity. It's a day I've been dreaming of and striving towards for a few years now, and being frugal has made it possible for me to get as far as I have gotten on my very low income.

I'm looking to purchase a property in the ranges of 1-3 bedrooms, between 60k-120k purchase price. Extra bedrooms are for renting out, so a higher mortgage payment in exchange for extra bedrooms is ok with me. In fact, I can get a spare bedroom to pay my mortgage, I'm 100% confident. That leaves me to pay all the other overhead costs. Property values in my area have been rising an average of 3%, which means that it's only going to be more expensive the longer I wait.

My gross income is $28,800/yr and my FICO score is between 702 and 725. I'm fairly confident that I can get a good rate on a 30 year mortgage in the range I'm seeking.

My DH will also be helping pay the mortgage, of course, but his income won't be used in the application due to his lower credit score.