Author Topic: Reduce 401K contributions to buy rentals  (Read 6559 times)

jmusic

• Bristles
Reduce 401K contributions to buy rentals
« on: January 29, 2015, 10:07:16 AM »
Hello, I'm interested in buying up some rental properties.  Before I begin my question/discussion, here's some background info:

I'm a Navy Officer, and my current assets are:
22K in TSP
5K in Roth
5K in Traditional
22K in after-tax savings accounts (suboptimal I know, but I am wary of current stock market valuations)
$7k-ish hatchback free and clear, no debt.
I rent an apartment right now in San Diego (prices are crazy here!), and I'll be moving to Norfolk in August where I'm considering renting as well.
My gross taxable income is $71K before IRA contributions (which doesn't include allowances).  I contributed $9500 to TSP in 2014 and am set to max it out ($18K) during 2015. 

I'm also saving about $2k/mo outside of TSP. 

Anyway, after all of that discussion, I'm interested in buying properties in San Antonio, because my parents live there and if I needed to visit I'd have a place to stay, and I'd still have a reason to go to if I'm not in the military.  I realize that I probably am in position to buy a property right now in San Antonio, but my question is this:

Should I reduce my 401K contributions to be able to buy more rental properties? 

I'm looking at foreclosures right now in the $70-100K range that will need a bit of rehab.  After fixing up they should rent for around $1000-1200/mo so they'd meet the 1% rule of thumb, and they'd also have a bit of equity.

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: Reduce 401K contributions to buy rentals
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, 10:33:33 AM »