Author Topic: Real Estate vs. Stocks  (Read 6998 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Real Estate vs. Stocks
« on: July 17, 2013, 07:18:31 PM »
BiggerPockets had a decent article comparing the returns of real estate versus stocks.

Naturally there are always things one can nitpick/argue about in scenarios like these, but I thought this article did a decent (fairly balanced) job.

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/07/17/real-estate-vs-stocks/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

easyrider

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Real Estate vs. Stocks
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 07:28:28 PM »
They lightly touched on it but with real estate most of the profit is from the rent as opposed to property appreciation.  The rent is taxed every year which is unfortunate.  I think it also counts as regular income which doesn't help.

With stocks, for the most part the profit is in capital appreciation and a smaller amount from dividends.  So the larger capital appreciation element you can hold off being taxed on and then there may be tax discounts to it being a capital gain.

This was lightly touched on in the article but yet it is not a small issue.  It can easily swing the math.

All that being said, the stock market is expensive right now.  If you can find a rental that is cash-flow positive I would probably take it over stocks.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2013, 08:10:26 PM »
They lightly touched on it but with real estate most of the profit is from the rent as opposed to property appreciation.