Author Topic: Real estate conundrum  (Read 2602 times)

wellnessmobile

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Real estate conundrum
« on: June 18, 2017, 06:46:06 PM »
Hello all,

I am contemplating a few things and figured I would regurgitate it on the forum to receive some insight.

I have a rental property on a 5/1 arm that actually does well in regards to cash flow each year. The 5/1 arm is coming to an end in 2018. I am currently a gradaute student and will be finishing my program in Dec 2018 as well. Funny how life works. So here is my barrage of questions:

- Is it more advantageous to pay more than my minimum monthly payment to tackle principle or pay the minimum payment and invest the cash flow?
- I plan on refinancing once I finish graduate school to a 10 year fixed rate. The monthly payment will basically eliminate my cash flow but I will save in the long run by not paying excessive interest on a longer loan. Thoughts?
- Is it worth moving back to the house to refinance as a primary residence or just do it as an investment property?

Thanks!

-Jimmie

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: Real estate conundrum
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 09:04:11 PM »
Yo, grad student - provide the details needed to answer these questions.

Such as:
Interest rates!
Life situation - do you *want* or *need* to move back in? Are you headed out of town after you graduate? What's the market like?
Equity/lack thereof?
Monthy rent/PITI/etc? Self manage? Pay a management company?
How much did you pay in the first place? Why did you get an ARM?
Future earning prospects? Investments? SO? If so (har), their finances if relevant?

You have provided no information at all, basically, other than the term of the loan. Nobody can answer any of your questions or help you if you don't tell us anything.

-W

wellnessmobile

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2017, 08:07:35 PM »