Author Topic: Question for landlords regarding repair of appliances  (Read 2604 times)

davisgang90

• Handlebar Stache
    • Photography by Rich Davis
Question for landlords regarding repair of appliances
« on: April 19, 2017, 10:16:39 AM »
Mustachian landlords, a question for you.

I've been renting the same house for 7 years.  The lease lists appliances that the owner is responsible to repair and those the owner is not responsible to repair.

I've had two issues pop up recently and want your thoughts on whether I'm being unreasonable.

The first is that we have a gas fireplace (which is covered by the owner for repair per the lease).  It has a blower assembly that circulates the warm air around the room.  Over the winter, the blower stopped working.  The property manager originally said she was looking for someone to fix it, but then said the owner wasn't responsible as it isn't in the lease. 

Second issue, several years ago, the water filtration system in the fridge (covered for repair per the lease) stopped working as the line kept freezing up.  After multiple attempts to repair, the prop manager and I came to the agreement that I would install an under sink filter connected to the sink faucet instead of replacing the freezer door (the repair recommended by the manufacturer).

The kitchen sink faucet started leaking a few months ago (no, not related to the filter) and ended up being replaced.  The plumber said he didn't have the parts with him to reconnect the water filter and he'd have to come back.  That was a couple months ago.  Now the prop manager says that the owner isn't responsible for the under sink filter as it isn't in the lease.

I like to think I'm a reasonable guy, I've accepted rent increases on an annual basis and always paid on time, but I'm starting to feel nickel and dimed with stuff I shouldn't have to either fix myself or suddenly live without.  I've got one more year in this place before I retire and move, so I have no interest in moving.