Author Topic: Property Evaluation  (Read 6297 times)

Chiron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Property Evaluation
« on: March 07, 2013, 11:16:06 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to real estate investing, but am looking to buy one or two properties in the next year.  There's a condo less than a mile from where I currently live and I've run some numbers on it as an investment.  It seems to be a good deal, but would love your feedback on it. I've pasted my analysis below.  Sorry for all the funky table formatting - I couldn't get it to format correctly.  The property is currently listed for $79k.  How much would you pay for it? 

Note that the analysis below assumes an $80k all in purchase price (including closing costs and improvements to get it rent-ready, which are going to be minimal because the place is in great shape) and a 25% down payment.  I think I could even lower my maintenance allowance because the HOA covers exterior maintenance.

Month                 Year
Gross Rents   $1,400.00   $16,800.00
Vacancy                $70.00   $840.00
Gross Income   $1,330.00   $15,960.00
Management   $140.00           $1,680.00
Taxes           $185.18           $2,222.20
Insurance     $40.00           $480.00
HOA                   $328.00           $3,936.00
Maintenance   $100.00           $1,200.00
Other           $0.00           $0.00
Total Operating
Expenses           $793.18           $9,518.20
NOI                   $536.82           $6,441.80
Debt Service   $304.01           $3,648.13
Cash Flow   $232.81           $2,793.67
COC Return at
25% Down        1.16%        13.97%

Johnny Aloha

• Bristles
Re: Property Evaluation
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2013, 12:11:55 PM »
I don't see mortgage interest payment in your table.

Chiron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2013, 01:05:03 PM »