Author Topic: Pay off mortgage on a rental??  (Read 10259 times)

myamnesia

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay off mortgage on a rental??
« on: January 27, 2016, 11:49:59 AM »
Hi,

I'm new to MMM and am looking for some advice...we're aiming to be FI in 10 years, our accommodation is currently provided by our employer so our own living expenses are minimal. We own a rental property close by that we manage ourselves. Does it make sense to pay off the mortgage over the next 10 years or wait until we're FI and pay off in one go or not pay off at all? We're thinking that the rental income would pay for our accommodation when we're traveling in 10 years if we're mortgage free. We're also saving like crazy ($4000 per month) and investing everything in the stock market. We're also looking at buying another rental property as well. Any ideas or thoughts would be much appreciated, we're trying to figure out the best plan whilst we have time on our side.

Thanks!!

GrowingTheGreen

• Bristles
    • Growing The Green
Re: Pay off mortgage on a rental??
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 12:33:22 PM »
From a percentage standpoint, your investment return is higher if you don't pay off your mortgage at an accelerated rate.

Normally, I'd say let it run its course and invest the difference. In your case though, having the extra cash flow each month could make paying off the mortgage an attractive option. It basically comes down to one question: would you rather have more cash flow in retirement come from the stock market or in real estate? If your answer is real estate, then I favor purchasing another rental.

PARedbeard

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2016, 12:37:07 PM »
Are there any tax considerations when thinking about this? I have heard rumors in the past, and would love to know more.

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2016, 01:46:26 PM »