Author Topic: Own a house, getting married  (Read 2412 times)

Sarahswhere

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Own a house, getting married
« on: June 11, 2013, 12:59:09 PM »
Hi everyone. I own a house that would make a great rental, and we're considering doing a furnished/vacation rental since I'll be moving to his house when we get married. I know a long term rental would be ideal, but we'd like to do some work to his house and want the availability to stay there while we're working on his house. Not to mention the hassle of selling everything inside.

The house right next door to mine is similar and is a furnished/vacation rental on VRBO.com. The house is in a downtown area close to restaurants and activities, and a private college within blocks. The good thing is we can easily afford to keep it without a renter. Our total income is around $125k. I'm an airline pilot, he's a plumber but has skills beyond his trade. We have no debt other than our respective mortgages and each mortgage is $800.

So, tips, advice, recommendations, horror stories? I welcome it all...
1. Should I include cable, Internet?
2. Add air conditioning?
Sarah

PS, the house has beautiful new front and back doors,  brand new windows, and we're building a new deck in the back soon.

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
Re: Own a house, getting married
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 01:12:25 PM »
I have no advice, but wanted to say: the house looks really cute!!

cerberusss

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 02:28:18 PM »
It's hard to give advice in the absense of numbers. What do you expect to get in terms of rent? Do you want to maintain the rental yourself, or outsource? What do you expect to spend maintaining the place?