Author Topic: New York Real Estate [Article]  (Read 2141 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
New York Real Estate [Article]
« on: October 28, 2014, 08:34:56 PM »
Interesting Gawker article on NY Real Estate: New York Housing Is Great, As Long as You're Rich and Live Elsewhere

I find manipulated markets quite interesting, as they just don't perform the way they "should" (the way an unmanipulated one would based on typical supply/demand models).  This article has some great hard data on NY real estate. 
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Lentils5eva

• Stubble
Re: New York Real Estate [Article]
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 09:28:42 PM »
While Ioseftavi and I have NEVER paid anywhere near the rents that the chef in the article is paying, we can confirm that for anyone other than the ultra-wealthy, or those who refuse to even try to stay in a budget for their Manhattan housing, looking for a place to live is COMPLETELY TERRIBLE here.  Awful.  We looked at about 15-20 apartments before finding our current place.  Some of them were appalling.  In one the kitchen was so narrow that you could not open the dishwasher door, rendering that enthusiastically touted "luxury feature" basically useless.  Trying to look for no-fee listings is ulcer-inducing.  Listings are full of out and out lies.  One time, my roommate (pre ioseftavi) and I went to see a place advertised as a 2 BR, and when we got there, it was a studio, and the broker told us that for $1500 we could have a temporary wall installed that would divide the (very small) living space into two (unbelievably tiny) bedrooms.