Author Topic: Need to get rid of crappy roommates  (Read 1824 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Need to get rid of crappy roommates
« on: January 16, 2021, 02:07:15 PM »
I have been renting out 2 of my bedrooms (for 6 months) to two people who have become increasingly obnoxious. I am working on an end of tenancy letter. It's not required for me to give them a reason why I am ending their lease.
But there was an incident where I had been keeping the heat off in the living room during the afternoons and one of the tenants threatened to report me the city if I didn't keep the heat on in the living room in the afternoon. The law requires that the heat be at 70 from 6am from 10pm all day in common areas. So I changed it.

I don't want her to think I am retaliating against her for telling me to raise the heat. So I want to put a reason in the letter to cover my bases.
Reasons:
Noise disturbances due to relational activities between tenants (they started dating each other)
My roommates talk to me too much
One of them is becoming a hoarder
The other one talks about guns too much
I'm tired of asking them to clean up after themselves in the kitchen
They quit their jobs and they're home all day every day and they're driving me crazy
I'm a crappy landlord and I need to stop doing this as a way to make money
Or I could say "no reason" and let the chips fall where they may. The worst case scenario is that I could be found to be retaliating and have to pay one of the tenants 3 months of rent in damages and her legal fees. In the letter I could say something like "if requested a list of reasons may be provided on the last day of the lease."

I'm trying to minimize arguing and threats. Thoughts?
« Last Edit: January 16, 2021, 02:22:28 PM by mozar »

ctuser1

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Need to get rid of crappy roommates
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2021, 02:23:37 PM »
Are you even allowed to kick tenants out during COVID?