Author Topic: Need help with rearranging the floor plan on our remodel  (Read 4713 times)

Landor n Stella

• Stubble
    • Heartland House Project Blog
Need help with rearranging the floor plan on our remodel
« on: September 06, 2012, 07:23:18 AM »
http://heartlandhouse.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/im-stumped-with-the-floor-plan/

Yeah, you can laugh. I'm a trained architect and I'm kind of freaking out about the floor plan for our house remodel. We are going to live in it for a while after it's done, and then either sell or rent. So I thought the people in this thread would have some advice for what renters or buyers are looking for. I've got a couple of options drawn up in the post, but only the last one is really jiving for me, and it still needs help. Much appreciated!

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Need help with rearranging the floor plan on our remodel
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2012, 08:59:03 AM »
I see no reason to make the dining room as big as in option 1. Options 2 and 3 both look good enough to me. One thought I have is that it would be nice to have the shared bathroom be more central. Can you swap the half and full bathrooms in option 2? You might have to shorten the longer kitchen counter.

Are you going to put a closet in bedroom 3?
Would an over-under W/D help solve any of these problems?

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2012, 10:32:55 AM »
I'm kinda feeling the same way about bathroom location, it needs to be more centrally located. I honestly like the second layout overall.

I've always been a firm believer that more isn't always more. I know bigger numbers look more attractive on MLS websites when selling or renting (excuse the square footage), and everyone else is flipping these houses in your area to similar specs, but you know what I look for in a house? Workable living space and generous storage, not a plethora of tiny rooms.