Author Topic: Need help finding a home inspector - tips needed  (Read 1952 times)

mamabear18

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need help finding a home inspector - tips needed
« on: January 13, 2020, 08:35:34 PM »
Hi! I am a first time homebuyer - I'm new to this state and don't know anyone. How do I go about finding a reputable home inspector?  How much do they usually charge?

rocketpj

• Pencil Stache
Re: Need help finding a home inspector - tips needed
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2020, 09:04:03 PM »
First rule - don't hire the one recommended  by your realtor.  They can/often do have kickback arrangements which can compromise their impartiality.  (i.e. many realtors won't recommend an inspector that finds and tells you about potentially serious problems). 

What you want is a fairly experienced independent inspector who makes a big deal about his obligation to you, not the realtor.  In my experience word of mouth is best, but that can be hard if you are new in town.

affordablehousing

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2020, 09:29:37 PM »
I am hoping someday to become one as a post-retirement project/hobby. On our first house we hired someone highly reviewed on Yelp and he did a fine job. It was an easy house, without much wrong with it, and he confirmed as much. He got paid, easy peazy. Our next house had a lot of things wrong with it, and in our market, the seller preemptively has a home inspection done, or in this case the probate executor. In general, I think inspectors are lazy, stupid, pointless and don't know how to communicate with clients constructively. This one, (that I didn't even order or pay for) the opposite! To my delight his report had a whole roadmap of what he'd prioritize and what was less important. Years in I still consult it to see if there are things I haven't addressed yet. Moreover, he was easy to get on the phone, took an interest in the particular house, and had a lot of "down to earth" comments about what was not a big deal.