Author Topic: mrlandlord.com // helpful service or scam // how to screen tenants?  (Read 12060 times)

TrulyStashin

• Handlebar Stache
Veteran landlords, have you used this service?   http://www.mrlandlord.com/7/index.html

The fee for a tenant credit/ criminal/ eviction check is $24.95 which seems reasonable.  In VA, the state police will do a criminal check but the charge is $15. I wonder if this website is as reliable/ thorough in its data.

What resources can you recommend for screening tenants?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: mrlandlord.com // helpful service or scam // how to screen tenants?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 05:35:50 PM »
Ongoing discussion here of some tenant screening options: https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/real-estate-and-landlording/tenant-screening/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

monicafaye

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 06:09:23 PM »
I use The Landlord Protection Agency.  Even if you don't want a membership you can get helpful information from their website, especially the Q&A Forum.

TrulyStashin

• Handlebar Stache

D.williams

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2013, 10:59:57 AM »
I have never used MrLandlord before, but I do use http://myrental.com/ for my tenant screening services. They might be a little more expensive then some, but I have used them in the past with no issues so I don't have a problem paying a little extra to give me so added peace of mind. Very good service.

Fishingmn

• Bristles
  • You never have to recover from a good start
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2014, 08:44:53 AM »
I use - https://www.mysmartmove.com/