Author Topic: Mortgage Coupon Book - WTF?  (Read 6797 times)

Masstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mortgage Coupon Book - WTF?
« on: January 10, 2018, 02:56:28 PM »

I have had my mortgages (primary residence and rental properties) with a local bank forever.   I have had autopay set up, with e-delivery of all documents.   No paper, no worries.   Apparently the local bank sold all their investment property mortgages recently to some outfit called "Fidelity Bank" in Wichita KS (unrelated to the other Fidelity).    Next thing I know, Fidelity Bank mailed me Mortgage Coupon Books with instructions of how to mail a check to make my monthly mortgage payment.   What is this, 1980?  I haven't written an actual check in years.    I have been paying mortgages for over 20 years, and I have had mortgages sold and resold dozens of times, but this is the first Mortgage Coupon Book I have ever seen.   The accompanying letter said something like "We are in the process of figuring out this new-fangled Internet thing and hope to provide you access to your account via your computer thingie as soon as we harvest all the wheat."   Nothing against Kansas, but it worries me to have my mortgage held by such a dinosaur.   Is there risk in having a mortgage held by a rinky-dink local bank halfway across the country?   Should I refinance and bring the loan back to a local bank? 

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Mortgage Coupon Book - WTF?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 04:41:48 PM »