Author Topic: Made some dumb RE choices...  (Read 3814 times)

JM33

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Made some dumb RE choices...
« on: August 29, 2013, 10:00:50 PM »
Hello everyone, I’m in a bit of a bind and would like your thoughts on my financial situation.

I graduated college in 2007, lived reasonably below my means, packed away about $35,000, and purchased a 1 bed, 1 bath condo in a coastal city in Orange County in the winter of 2008. Purchased for nearly $250,000 with a 10% down payment and a 30 year fixed mortgage at 6.0%. 

Mortgage, PMI, HOA dues, and property taxes result in a monthly expense of $1,900. In retrospect, not the best decision as rent for apartments on the same street with similar (arguably better) amenities were going for $1,200 at the time. But I was foolishly emotionally wrapped up in the idea of becoming a home owner. 

It was a fixer and I spent $12,000 in savings from my job over the years, doing what work I could myself to save a bit.

Due to a job relocation, my commute increased substantially and after doing that for a while, reached a breaking point and rented out the condo, while renting a place closer to work. Condo is currently bringing in $1,300 a month. Rents for similar condos in the area going for ~$1,250 - $1,350. I’m currently paying $1,450 to live closer to work.

I’m obviously no personal finance whiz, but I’ve made it a priority to educate myself more over this last year. Got to admit, been kicking myself lately for that naïve purchase in 2008 now that I know more. When all is said and done, the condo is costing me $600/month out of pocket, and I get about $300/month back via the refund from tax deductions each year. Total cash dumped into the condo, excluding mortgage payments, and included accumulated $300 monthly rental losses is about $48,000. I owe $206,000 on the mortgage.