Author Topic: Looking for fellow mustachian to rent from.  (Read 3234 times)

frpeebles

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Looking for fellow mustachian to rent from.
« on: April 01, 2014, 06:08:08 PM »
I mostly lurk these forums and I realize this likely isn't the appropriate place for this thread so if someone knows a more suitable location please speak up.

Basically my fiancee and I are looking to rent a modest single family in north Houston, TX and are having difficulty finding something. We just drove here from Tucson, AZ as she transfers to a fancy new engineering job. I have never had so much trouble finding a place to rent before I came here. I am a CNC machinist with an A+ credit score and she is a Mechanical Engineer with a trouble spot on her history. Everywhere we apply either no one will give us the time of day or respond to us in a timely fashion. Apparently they all have loads of cash and aren't worried about getting a place rented.

Again I know this probably isn't the place but if there is anyone looking to fill a house in Houston please drop me a note. I have excellent references available.

Thank you!

Fishingmn

• Bristles
  • You never have to recover from a good start
Re: Looking for fellow mustachian to rent from.
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 12:52:28 PM »
Some thoughts -

- Not sure if you are just using Craigslist but also look at places like hotpads.com, padmapper.com, zillow.com or trulia.com as they may have some places listed that aren't on CL

- Seems odd to me that someone would be taking your application and then not following up. Are you seeing places in person and filling out application or is this all sight unseen? I always meet tenant at property and if they fill out application I then proceed through approval process. Maybe you need to find someone who self manages their property vs. a property management firm