Author Topic: Landlording In "Undesirable" Neighbourhoods  (Read 7603 times)

Mega

• Stubble
Landlording In "Undesirable" Neighbourhoods
« on: August 09, 2013, 09:46:19 AM »
Hi There,

I am new to the Money Mustache world, but I have been growing one slowly without knowing it. My question today has to do with people's experiences landlording in undesirable neighbourhoods (specifically Hamilton Ontario).

My house (in neighboring Burlington) is worth approximately $400k, and can be rented out for somewhere around $2k/month. So houses in my area are clearly not worth purchasing to rent out. This is stupid valuation is quite consistent throughout all of the nearby cities in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area), except for Hamilton.

In Hamilton, there are currently a few houses on the market at ~95K, already rented out around ~$950 a month. These houses are in the undesirable downtown area (Think guys with basketball shirts and baggy pants, tattoos and walking pitbulls, with their pregnant girlfriend with roots showing on her platinum blond dye job). This gives a capitalization ration of 12% (Based on my reading here an elsewhere, this is a great return).

So, what are the pitfalls / cautionary tales about 'bad' neighborhoods?
What margin of safety do you look for if purchasing in such areas?
Why would anyone sell a currently rented property with a cap rate of 12%, unless there are significant problems with the building?
What tips do you have for someone thinking about starting out in the rental market? (I will have to convince my dear wife to buy the property)

mpbaker22

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Landlording In "Undesirable" Neighbourhoods
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2013, 09:55:48 AM »
How did you calculate the CAP rate?  It might be that you're over-estimating rents, remember to factor in tenants who don't pay and need to be evicted + vacancies.