Author Topic: Land Trusts - Reciprocal Back Scratching Sought  (Read 2893 times)

workwheniwantto

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Land Trusts - Reciprocal Back Scratching Sought
« on: June 28, 2013, 01:04:51 PM »
I tried the search function, and was surprised to find no reference to "land trust" in the MMM forums.  Does anyone here use them, and what forms/trustees do you use? 

I would like to find someone to trustee my assets and I would trustee theirs in return.  I would prefer someone with a really common last name in another state; I can offer the same for you - I am Miller in PA, which is up there with Jones and Smith around here. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Land Trusts - Reciprocal Back Scratching Sought
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 08:42:03 PM »
To what point and purpose?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

workwheniwantto

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2013, 07:49:01 AM »
To what point and purpose?

My primary reason to put in a land trust is to keep ownership private - less of a target for ambulance chasers, and makes
"will have to speak with the owner" conversations more plausible.  Secondary reason is it makes title transfer easier - either for estate planning or for avoiding property recording fees and transfer tax. 

Main reasons not to do it are banks will rarely ever loan to a trust (unless you put in your name first, and then transfer - though I would not want to do that in my case, since that reduces the effectiveness of the above reasons.)