Author Topic: Keep or sell rental property in San Francisco  (Read 24173 times)

duanemark

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Keep or sell rental property in San Francisco
« on: May 02, 2014, 01:47:36 PM »
Hi all - I'm a complete novice, so bear with me on this. 

We have a rental property in a very popular neighborhood of San Francisco.  We purchased at the bottom of the recent recession for $1.1MM.  We have a first and second mortgage.  The first has a balance of $675K at a 3.375% interest rate.  The second has a balance of $180K at prime.  We pay about $13,500 a year in property taxes and about $1000 in insurance premium.  We previously used the property as our own, but moved out and are currently renting it out at $5600 per month.  It seems like we should sell, but here's the kicker...the real estate market in SF is frenzied.  With facebook, twitter, google, etc. in the bay area, we are home to many millionaires who want to live in San Francisco (as opposed to Silicon Valley) and are willing to plunk down a lot of CASH for property.  Indeed, many homes go for hundreds of thousands over asking - all cash.  Especially in my very popular neighborhood in SF.  We're a 7 mile by 7 mile pocket of land surrounded by water - there's only so much supply.  Currently, zillow values our house at $2MM.

Should we keep the house for the investment of further appreciation or sell now and use the $1MM equity to invest elsewhere? 

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Keep or sell rental property in San Francisco
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 02:00:55 PM »
Too many unknowns in your post.  But you can start with what is you best guess estimate on appreciation of the property in 1, 3, 5, 10 years?  If you do cash out what are your investment options and what is your expected return on those investments.