Author Topic: Joint venture on flip - fair split????  (Read 4472 times)

RodFoster

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Joint venture on flip - fair split????
« on: August 29, 2016, 08:01:46 PM »
Talking to an acquaintance about doing some flips together as a joint venture.  I would front the cash for the purchase and the rehab. Property in my name. Partner arranges the improvements as I no time. Basically I front money and take risk and he expends some time and, in some cases, may bring a wholesale purchase to us to buy.  What would a fair split of profits be in your opinion?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Joint venture on flip - fair split????
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2016, 08:17:51 PM »
Whatever you two negotiate and both feel is fair.  Have you discussed it with him?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

NoNonsenseLandlord

• Bristles
    • No Nonsense Landlord
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2016, 08:38:51 PM »
I did a flip with a partner once.  I provided the money, and most of the fix up work.  He found the property and listed it without a selling commission.  It was a $50K+ profit.

We split 50/50.  Finding the great deals are the hardest part  Anyone can buy off the MLS.  A pre-foreclosure with lots of creative equity is hard to find.  Most people would not be able to see the equity as it was swallowed up by a second mortgage that was extinguished.

Juggler451

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Business and Estate Planning Attorney in Vancouver, WA
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2016, 10:04:48 PM »