Author Topic: Is it the lifetime deal or not?  (Read 2025 times)

more4less

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is it the lifetime deal or not?
« on: December 02, 2013, 07:12:21 PM »
About me: I'm new to RE. I have good job, excellent credit history and some cash saved more than enough for 20% down plus some investments which I'd rather not touch.

About property: It's less than 100k, it's 4-plex with all units rented out bringing about $1900 per month (GRM<5, yay!). Looks like working class neighborhood in a big city. Property might need some maintenance.

The catch: place is 2000 miles away. If the property were at least 500 miles away, I'd buy it in no time. Also, I'm slightly worried about tenants' quality.

Questions:
0. Is it the lifetime deal or not?
1. How do I get mortgage for out of state property?
2. How hard is it to manage out of state property? Most likely I will hire a manager for this. Would love to hear your experiences.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2013, 07:17:22 PM by more4less »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Is it the lifetime deal or not?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 11:26:21 PM »
There's a saying in real estate: "The deal of a lifetime comes along about once a week."

That being said, no, this is not necessarily a screaming deal (doesn't even hit the 2% rule often used for small Multifamily).

It could be a deal or not depending on a number of factors.  First, you start it "may need some maintenance."  Better figure out exactly what it needs in rehab costs.

You should also figure out the ARV, and see how it compares to other properties in the area.  If they're all going for 80k, this obviously isn't a deal.  You also need to find out what the rental comps are (is it at, above, or below market).

Most important you need to find out about the area, both the city itself as well as the exact neighborhood.  Who will your tenants be?