Author Topic: Is it dumb to buy a 2nd house right now?  (Read 2649 times)

Healthie

• Stubble
Is it dumb to buy a 2nd house right now?
« on: March 17, 2020, 05:18:49 PM »
I am in the process of buying my second house; I am just barely able to afford it. My current house is getting an appraisal and then I’m refinancing. First house is worth around $250k, 2nd I bought for $320k. I plan to rent the 1st out for around $1600-1800, and with the refinance put a basement suite in the new house (rent = ~1000k). My salary will cover both mortgages with around $1000 to spare. I work in healthcare. Is right now a stupid time to buy this 2nd house?

Omy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Is it dumb to buy a 2nd house right now?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2020, 05:28:28 PM »
I have 2 rentals and am concerned that my tenants may not be able to pay their rent (or may choose not to pay their rent) in the next few months - especially if the government says they don't have to. My state has already declared that evictions will not be allowed during this time.

How is your emergency fund?
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 05:34:47 PM by Omy »

BikeFanatic

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2020, 05:33:20 PM »
I might consider waiting unless it is the perfect house in a high demand neighborhood. I can not see housing prices staying as high  as they have been with the economic fallout post Covid.

+1 on the emergency fund, because you just never know...

Healthie

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2020, 05:36:08 PM »
I will have $0 emergency fund until the refinance happens.

Freedomin5

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2020, 06:00:48 PM »
Yes. Not because of the timing, but because you are stretching yourself really thin. “I am barely able to afford it” and “I have no emergency fund” are not good statements to be making. Also, your first house that you plan to turn into a rental does not meet the 1% rule of thumb.